Belongings

Belongings

posted Saturday, 8 May 2010

 How many of you see your own belongings over the years as being not only part of but also the essence of YOU? Anchors of self within reality?

If you throw a book out of the window into the darkness, don’t expect it to still be there in the morning. 
Photobucket

The Last Balcony – from ‘Unsettled Dust’

 As I get older, I have been divesting myself of many of my previously valued books etc. It’s as if I am conducting a dress rehearsal of Death divesting itself of me!

Or should that be Life divesting itself of me?
EDIT: (8 May 10). So the consensus may be that your belongings are an important fabric of self that if you got rid of them would diminish that fabric??

 comments (1)

1. craigherbertson left…

Monday, 24 May 2010 6:20 am :: http://www.heavenmakers.com/

I nearly died a while ago – bleeding on the brain – I noticed after recovering that I wasn’t very interested in my possessions some of which were a deeply integral part of me prior to nearly dying . I think it’s part of a fragmentation of self. You sort of symbolically explode on death and the parts fly away from he central core; some of the first to go are the physical objects that you’ve surrounded yourself with. If you make voluntary decisions to eject those I think that’s quite healthy. Dying later, the other objects like your body begin a similar process of fragmentation but that’s involuntary and if there’s a lot of other ‘real’ possessions in the way they mighty simply block the process. Basically, some sort of Buddhististic view I suppose

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment