The soliloquisers in Romeo and Juliet knew there was an audience out there listening…

…if only it was each other!

This is not a complaint, not even a call to change anything, but more a brief personal soliloquy. Much of my fiction work — often over many years — has been gradually moulded on blogs and forums, some public (but rarely read), a few even passworded, but always linked ‘up front’ from the Weirdmonger Wheel … then, if successful, crystallised by independently published print at which time I have always considered it to be its year of publication.

Therefore, I am disappointed that the previously unprinted stories in ‘The Last Balcony’ (including my novella ‘Yesterfang’) are not eligible to appear in the eligibility lists of the latest BFS Awards. Even if it were possible to list them there, I had no hope they would progress beyond such a list and, indeed, I now fully recognise that, according to the rules, they are not eligible. But where does informal sharing (or workshopping) on the Internet cease and formal prior publication begin, as far as fiction’s on-line status is concerned? A rhetorical question, which brings me back to soliloquising! I shall just end with an apology for cluttering up the eligibility lists yesterday with ineligible stories that rightly needed to be deleted.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “The soliloquisers in Romeo and Juliet knew there was an audience out there listening…

  1. I have so far placed versions of 25 brand new fictions by myself on my blogs etc. during 2012. Please consider them for the current BFS Awards. I won’t place them on the eligibility lists myself but presumably they are eligible when their very existence on-line precludes them from being eligible when they are published eventually in print.

  2. For those unaware of them, here is a complete list of my real-time reviews since 2008:
    http://dflewisreviews.wordpress.com/
    I note someone has placed them on the BFS Award eligibility lists for non-fiction as a generalised feature.
    Thanks, whoever you are.
    Yesterday, I added Volume 6 (featuring my massive RTR of the equally massive ‘The Weird’) of the printed book versions of these reviews on the eligibility as a specific item.

  3. Also please consider for eligibility listing the fifteen (!) books I published in 2012 shown here:
    http://nemonymous123456.wordpress.com/numbskull-raw-air-lurk-descending-thingie/

Leave a Reply

