Cordelia’s Face

“There are faces made for moonlight. There are faces created to respond to the wind. There are faces for sandy deserts, for lonely seashores, for solitary headlands, for misty dawns, for frosty midnights. Cordelia’s face was made for rain. It had nothing in it that was normally beautiful; and yet it became at this moment the living incarnation of all those long hours when rain had mingled with her secretest hopes. Her face was charged with the rain that had streamed down the window-panes at Cardiff Villa, twilight after twilight, while her thoughts had been flying far away; far over dripping forests, far over swollen rivers to green-black castle walls of which she fancied herself the mistress or the captive.”

— from ‘The Glastonbury Romance’ (1933) by John Cowper Powys.

My other quotes from this massive novel: HERE

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Cordelia’s Face

  1. You have to imagine the face in the photo perhaps…but it’s there for me.

  2. There has been a lot of serendipity about this afternoon! I made that Cordelia’s Face quote from JCP as part of my usual daily JCP quoting from ‘The Glastonbury Romance’. I liked the quote so much I decided to highlight it on my main blog above. I thought it needed a picture to go with it. So I photographed the framed picture above from my household because it had a ‘headland’ and looked as if it were raining. Imagine my surprise when I spotted Cordelia’s Face on the right hand side staring out at me. Although some people can’t see it.
    But then an hour later one of my favourite painters – Ade Hodges – coincidentally posted one of his latest paintings to Facebook, viz:

  3. Also from ‘The Glastonbury Romance’ (and my sympathy to all who are flooded in UK at the particular moment):

    “…when darkness falls before people prepare for tea, that the symbolic essence of rain is most deeply felt. And that they should be realised in their essential quiddity, these whirling gusts of grey rain tossed obliquely across the darkening hills, they must not come in a steady, tropic downpour. *Floods* of rain destroy the quality and the significance of rain. Drops they must be, many, many drops; an infinity of drops if you will; but still numberless separate drops, grey or brown or whitish-grey, in order that they may retain that rain-smell, rain-taste, rain-secret, which separates rain from ordinary water.”

Leave a Reply

