Joel Lane

I am shocked and very saddened by the sudden death of Joel Lane as reported yesterday. I knew him face to face intermittently since the late 1980s and frequently on-line. He will be remembered as a great fiction and poetry writer, a righter of wrongs, a wry humourist, a dark visionary, an astute commentator on literature and worldly affairs, and someone who, one senses, sometimes found life difficult yet fulfilling, thus helping others to fulfil themselves and overcome their own difficulties. I shall miss him much. He won the World Fantasy Award for best author’s collection only a few weeks before his death.  Condolences to his family and friends. RIP Joel.
(My direct review and publication connections with Joel. Very proud to have such connections as well as the less formal ones).

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Joel Lane

  1. Anonymous

    I knew Joel as an undergraduate, and have not seen him for over 25 years. I do not know his writing, but still remember him as a really nice guy, free of egotism and genuine in his interest in others. He also introduced me to the philosophy of science!

  2. Pingback: Joel Lane 1963-2013: “There’s always a link between deprivation and fantasy.” | Rosanne Rabinowitz

Leave a comment